Notochemo's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Doctor Diagnosed With Cancer Shocked At What Doctors Told Him

We were fortunate that someone passed this book to us for part of our research.

I have extracted bits from the book.

Remember, this man is a doctor himself.  His peers shocked him with their “treatment” of cancer.

__________________

Extracts from “Anticancer” by David Servan-Schreiber, MD, PhD:

“When David Servan-Schreiber, a dedicated scientist and doctor, was diagnosed with brain cancer, his life changed.  Confronting what medicine knows about the illness and the little-known workings of his body’s natural cancer-fighting capacities, and marshaling his own will to live, Servan-Schreiber found himself on a fifteen-year journey from disease and relapse into scientific exploration and, finally, to health. “

“I have cancer. I was diagnosed for the first time fifteen years ago.  I received conventional treatment and the cancer went into remission, but I relapsed after that.  Then I decided to learn everything I could to help my body defend itself against the illness.  As a physician, established researcher, and former director of the Center for Integrative Medicine agt the University of Pittsburgh, I had access to invaluable information about natural approaches to prevent or help treat cancer.  I’ve kept cancer at bay for seven years now. In this book, I’d like to tell you the stories – scientific and personal – behind what I learned.

After surgery and chemotherapy for cancer, I asked my oncologist for advice.   What should I do to lead a healthy life and what precautions could I take to avoid a relapse?  “There is nothing special to do.  Lead your life normally.  We’ll do MRI scans at regular intervals and if your tumor comes back, we’ll detect it early,” replied this leading light of modern medicine.

“But aren’t there exercise I could do, a diet to follow or to avoid?  Shouldn’t I be working on my mental outlook?”  I asked.  My colleague’s answer bewildered me.  “In this domain, do what you like.  It can’t do you any harm.  But we don’t have any scientific evidence that any of these approaches can prevent a relapse.”

__________________

NOTOCHEMO’S CONCLUSION:  There are too many people who have healed from cancer using alternative treatments.

August 31, 2009 - Posted by | Important Books Movies Websites, No To Chemo

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

