Notochemo's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Coconut Oil as Moisturizer – I tried it

I started using the same organic coconut oil I cook with on my face as  a moisturizer.

My skin is very dry.

I do notice a slight improvement – my skin does not pull as much toward the end of the day when it used to FEEL dry.

I have been told people with acne might prefer jojoba oil.

My skincare is really simple – an Aubrey Organics cleanser and coconut oil.  I may jojoba oil next time as a cleanser (will have to research that a little more.)

____________________

“Benefits of Virgin coconut oil on the skin:

  • Virgin coconut oil is useful in fighting free-radicals as it is unrefined and hasn’t been stripped of any of its important nutrients.
  • Virgin coconut oil helps prevent liver spots or brown spots. Liver spots is one of the classic sign of old age, it is cause by free-radical deterioration of the lipids (fats) in our skin over exposure to sunlight. The oil absorbed into the skin help limit or minimize damaged caused by excessive sun exposure.
  • Virgin coconut oil will not only bring temporary relief to stressed skin but it may also help in healing and repairing skin.
  • Virgin coconut oil reduces our need for vitamin E.
  • Virgin coconut oil help in removing the dead skin cells, to reveal a younger and smoother skin.
  • Virgin coconut oil is a deep penetrating food for the skin that can help strengthen connective tissues, so that skin doesn’t sag and wrinkle.
  • Applying the coconut oil as a pre-wash conditioner can help remove dandruff better that a medicated shampoo.
  • Antiseptic fatty acids in coconut oil help to prevent fungal and bacterial infections in the skin when it is consumed and to some extent, when it is applied directly to the skin.
  • Continuous use of Virgin Coconut oil on the skin can help cure some skin problem such as; Psoriasis , eczema, dandruff, acne, etc.”

____________________

CONCLUSION: I will wait for winter to see how this coconut oil works during that season.  So far, it’s easier and cheaper.  I have been using Nutiva after some research although I will continue to find out which is the best brand.   Definitely no chemicals on my face.  .CoconutOilNutiva

August 24, 2009 - Posted by | DIY Health

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

